The Australian community is being called upon to make their mark on the future of medical research in the country by voting in The Hospital Research Foundation’s (THRF) 50th Anniversary Awards.

Following a general public vote, two deserving researchers will each walk away with a $25,000 grant towards a scientific or clinical research project that will help to create a healthier community.

The first of its kind, the public voting campaign was developed to help continue THRF’s mission in supporting the very best translational medical and health research in Australia by engaging the wider community in choosing worthy recipients for these prestigious anniversary awards.

After an overwhelming response during the applications phase (open to researchers across the Central Adelaide Local Health Network), an independent panel shortlisted six finalists working in vitally important research areas.  All projects have a ‘bench to bedside’ approach to ensure the research is of a translational nature and will benefit the community.

Voting is open until the end of August and THRF is delighted to announce the following six finalists and their projects:

  • Dr Rajdeep Das (Royal Adelaide Hospital/Hanson Institute, Health Science) –Predicting treatment response in prostate cancer patients for more cost effective and improved survival outcomes
  • Dr Tessa Gargett (Royal Adelaide Hospital/Hanson Institute) – Fighting advanced melanoma with our immune cells – world-first clinical trial
  • A/Professor Catherine Hill (Royal Adelaide Hospital and The Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Rheumatology Unit) – Steroids: Measuring the harms from a patient perspective
  • A/Professor Bogdon Solomon (Royal Adelaide Hospital, Orthopaedic Surgery and Trauma) – Detecting hidden bacteria causing orthopaedic bone infections
  • Mr Joseph Van Agteren (The Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Respiratory Medicine) – it: The development of a social network-based smartphone app to stop smoking
  • Dr Miranda Ween (Royal Adelaide Hospital/IMVS, Thoracic Medicine) – E-cigarettes and Vaping: Are they as harmless as sellers would have you believe? 

THRF Chief Executive Officer Paul Flynn said this exciting campaign is a fantastic way for the general public to have their say on scientific and clinical research that will have an impact on themselves and their families.

“I’m thrilled with the areas of research and project aims outlined by our very worthy six finalists and am excited to see who wins the hearts and minds of our passionate SA community,” he said.

“Our 50th anniversary is a time to not only celebrate what we have achieved to date, it’s a time to set a precedent for future successes, and our two award winners will help pave the way for the future of research funded by our generous donor base.”

In addition to a $25,000 grant for the two winners (which one must be clinical), all six finalists have won the opportunity to develop a crowdfunding video to help continue to fund community donations towards their research projects, a personal media training package and promotion of their research project through THRF.

Voting closes at 12am, 1 September 2015 – http://thrf50awards.pgtb.me/4ZKJlg.