The Hospital Research Foundation (THRF) is excited to announce the recipients of our first ever state-wide PhD scholarship grant round.

We are proud to commit nearly $1 million over three years towards world-class clinical and scientific research projects to improve healthcare outcomes for patients in South Australian hospitals.

The PhD projects will cover critical areas of research and patient care such as cancer, stroke, leukaemia, indigenous health, endometriosis and more.

“We look forward to supporting the next generation of researchers through these PhD scholarships,” THRF CEO Paul Flynn said.

“THRF is committed to funding projects which enhance the health and wellbeing of our community through the provision of improved treatments and care informed by the latest research outcomes.

“This support would not be possible without the generous support of the THRF community and ticket buyers in the Hospital Research Home Lottery.”

We look forward to providing updates on this lifesaving research.

2019 PhD Scholarships

  • Dr Ravi Vissapragada (Flinders University / Flinders Medical Centre)
    Identifying odorant biomarkers for detection of oesophageal and gastric cancers.
  • Jose Javier Estevez (Flinders University / Flinders Medical Centre)
    Understanding the determinants of blinding diabetic retinopathy in indigenous Australians: Epidemiology, biology and clinical management.
  • Dr Timothy Surman (The University of Adelaide / Royal Adelaide Hospital)
    The structural apparatus of the aortic valve and risk stratification and patient outcomes for transapical and open aortic valve surgery.
  • Bradley Pitman (The University of Adelaide / Royal Adelaide Hospital)
    Comprehensive evaluation of clinical care in patients with Cardiac Implanted Electronic Devices and Arrythmias: Action towards improved workflow and outcomes.
  • Jessica Maddern (Flinders University)
    Chronic visceral pain in endometriosis.
  • Christine Gayen (The University of Adelaide)
    Developing and characterising a survival model of thoracic contusion spinal cord injury in pigs.
  • Gus Nwosu (University of South Australia)
    Targeting sphingosine kinase 1 to sensitise acute myeloid leukaemia to BH3 mimetic therapy.
  • Emma Solly (The University of Adelaide)
    miR-181c – a novel therapeutic target for the rescue of diabetes-impaired angiogenesis.
  • Claire Dunbar (Flinders University)
    The effects of wind turbine noise on sleep architecture for noise sensitive, non-sensitive and naive populations, assessed using quantitative electroencephalography (qEEG).